LASR.net Homepage



Menu

Big Spring, Texas

The seat of Howard County's name was derived from a huge natural spring on the Sulphur Draw that provided water to buffalo, antelope, wild mustangs, and the Comanche and Shawnee Indians. The first white men appeared at the site in 1849. Today, the spring is located at center of city park.

Big Spring is the home of Howard College and the Dorothy Garrett Coliseum, and South west Collegiate Institute for the Deaf.

The heritage walking tour features 26 historic buildings with antique and gift shops, a railroad and train display, and memorabilia, in the Big Spring downtown area.

Attractions and Upcoming Events

Heritage Museum

Pioneer and Indian artifacts, art exhibits, and displays of local history and early West Texas. Houses the world's largest collection of Texas Longhorn steer horns. Unique to the Southwest is exhibit of 46 rare and unusual phonographs; late 1800s to 1920

Big Spring, TX Museums

Comanche Trail Park

Home of spring that gave Big Spring its name; features 6,500-seat Comanche Trail Amphitheater. The 400-acre park offers swimming pool, 18

Big Spring, TX Fun Centers

Vietnam Memorial

Recognizes men and women who served the U.S. in Southeast Asia. Stone is same type used at National Vietnam Memorial in Washing ton, D.C. Displays include a F-4E Phanton II, UH-1 Huey, a tank, and Gold Star Memorial Chapel.

Big Spring, TX Monuments

Potton House

Restored Victorian home of Joseph Potton family, circa 1901; listed in National Register of Historic Places; excellent showcase for turn-of-the-century furnishings. Open Tues. - Sat. 1 - 5 p.m. or by appointment with Heritage Museum.

Big Spring, TX Historic Homes

Hangar 25 Air Museum

In 1942, Hangar 25 was constructed to support training of World War II bombardiers at the Big Spring Army Air Corps Bombardier School. More than 6,000 cadets trained here before the base closed in 1945. The base reopened in 1955 as Webb AFB until it closed in 1977

Big Spring, TX Museums

Things to do near Big Spring, TX

Roaring Springs Depot Museum

This mission-style building with red tile roof was built in 1913 and served as railroad depot until 1971. The city purchased ...

Ingrid's Custom Hand-Woven, Inc.

Visitors see weaving of 100 percent sheep's wool rugs and saddle blankets on 2,4, and 8 harness looms. They also can see how ...

Comanche Trail Golf Course

Course Access: Semi-PrivateHoles: 18Reserve Advance Tee Times: 2 days...

Elm Grove Golf Club

Course Access: Semi-PrivateHoles: 18Reserve Advance Tee Times: 3 days...