San Marcos, Texas
In 1851, William Lindsey, Gen. Edward Burleson and Eli T. Merriman bought the Juan Vermendi tract of land along the river and laid out the townsite. Legend says Franciscan monks paddling up the Guadalupe River discovered a clear river with large springs at its source and named the river San Marcos because the discovery was made on St. Mark's day. Gen. Burleson followed a bill through the legislature establishing Hays County in 1848, and San Marcos was designated county seat. The town was also a resting point in a three-day stagecoach trip from Austin to San Antonio. San Marcos has evolved from a gristmill, sawmill, and cotton farming town into a modern city.
The clear, cold San Marcos River rises from mammoth springs within the town. Noted for a profusion of both plant and animal aquatic life, the river is ranked among the world's most fertile. White-tailed deer are numerous in Hill Country and fishing is enjoyed year-round in the San Marcos and nearby Blanco Rivers.
The city is home to San Marcos Baptist Academy and the alma mater of Lyndon B. Johnson, Texas State University - San Marcos, whose campus commands an impressive view of the city.
The historic downtown, listed in the National Register of Historic Places, features a quaint marketplace with art, gift shops and unique restaurants. In years past, these shops and restaurants on the square were grocery and clothing stores, doctors offices and bank buildings. Also in the center of town is the restored Hays County Courthouse, and the Hays County Veterans Memorial is located on the corners of Hopkins St. and Riverside Dr.
The 1867 Charles S. Cock House is featured annually in the Tour of Homes event the first weekend in May. However, lunch is served in the cottage kitchen on Fri. 11 a.m. - 1 p.m. throughout the year.
Shoppers find bargains on name brand labels daily at the largest factory outlet complex in the state.