Neosho County was established under the name of Dorn County by the so-called Bogus legislature held at Shawnee in 1855, as the Territorial Capital before Kansas became a state. Dorn was split into Neosho and Labette Counties in 1861. The name Neosho had been used by the Kansas Indians many years before white settlement. George Sibley of the Santa Fe Trail survey team mentioned the Nee Ozho River in his journal entry of August 5, 1825. Ne means "water" and osho means "stream in" or "stream with water in it."
The Osages described the color of Neosho as "Water-Like-the-Skin-of-a-Summer-Cow- Wapiti." Pioneers sometimes referred to the river as Noshow because it occasionally went dry in the summer.
Explore Neosho County
The Tioga was built in 1929 by J.W. Pratt and was leased by the Boss Hotel Chain for most of its life. Designed in the Art Deco style, it features gargoyles on each corner. It was one of the state's first fireproof hotels and was placed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1991Chanute, KS Historic Hotels
In 1847, the Mother Church of the Diocese of Wichita was set up in one of the government-built log structures at the Catholic Osage Mission. The missionaries dedicated the church to the patronage of St. Francis Hieronymo, a Jesuit, who had been canonized by the Church as a saint on May 10, 1839St. Paul, KS Historic Churches
Susan Beth Janssen's 1800's Dress. Mem-Erie Museum has various collections that we wish to preserve for our children and grandchildren. We feel it is of great value to Erie and the surrounding area. We want to encourage the general public to feel that these are their ancestors and their history.Erie, KS Museums