LASR.net Homepage



Menu

Sequoyah County, OK

Sequoyah CountyIn 1820, some of the Cherokee Indians migrated from Georgia and in 1838-39, the remainder of the tribe was forced-marched over the "Trail of Tears" to what is now Oklahoma. The southern-most land assigned to them is the present Sequoyah County area. When Oklahoma was granted statehood in 1907, the county was named Sequoyah in honor of the famous Cherokee educator.

Sequoyah, the Cherokee soldier and teacher, gained world-wide fame when he devised the Cherokee syllabary. His statue is in the Nation's Capitol as one of Oklahoma's two greatest men. The giant redwood trees of California are named for him.

Sequoyah's original homesite is preserved in a beautiful park and historical complex just north of Sallisaw. Other artifacts of the area are on display in the 14 Flags Museum located in Sallisaw, as well as the restored depot and historic buildings around the town.

In western Sequoyah County just east of Gore, Tahlonteeskee, the first Cherokee capital, is reconstructed with the courthouse, council house, and Old Settler's Cabin.

The Robert S. Kerr Lake and Navagational System and Lake Tenkiller provide abundant outdoor recreation including boating, fishing, hunting, skiing, hiking, wildlife viewing, and educational opportunities at the Wildlife Refuge and the Lock and Dam.

Explore Sequoyah County

Sequoyah Statue

Sequoyah, the Cherokee soldier and teacher, gained world-wide fame when he devised the Cherokee syllabary. His statue is in the Nation's Capitol as one of Oklahoma's two greatest men. The giant redwood trees of California are named for him. The statue is located on the grounds of Sequoyah'

Sallisaw, OK Arts

Historic Churches

First Presbyterian Church - 1918 Oak and Creek Streets First Baptist Church South Elm and Creek Streets

Sallisaw, OK Historic Churches

Shadow Creek Country Club

18 holes, bent grass greens, open to the public. South on Wheeler Street 1.5 miles, veer left at the curve and continue under the interstate.

Sallisaw, OK Golf Courses


Sequoyah National Wildlife Refuge

Established to provide habitat for waterfowl and other migratory birds, the refuge lies at the junction of the Canadian and Arkansas Rivers and contains 20,800 acres, half of which is water.

Sallisaw, OK Wildlife Refuges

14 Flags Museum

14 Flags Museum is housed in the restored cabin, built in 1845, of Judge Franklin Faulkner, a pioneer lawyer of Sequoyah County. The museum contains early-day artifacts from this area. The entire museum complex includes a stretch of several log cabins with historical items on display.

Sallisaw, OK Museums

WPA High School

This 1940 WPA High School is listed on the National Register of Historic Places. It is now used as a community center as a memorial to Argayle Quesenbery.

Sallisaw, OK Historic Schoolhouses

Sequoyah's Homesite

The original log cabin home of Sequoyah was built in 1829 and contains many artifacts relative to Sequoyah's remarkable achievements. Sequoyah built this one-room log cabin to serve as his home shortly after his move to what is present day Oklahoma.

Sallisaw, OK Landmarks

Blue Ribbon Downs

Blue Ribbon Downs is Oklahoma's oldest racing facility and first pari-mutuel race track. Located on 165 acres bordered on the south by I-40 and on the north by Highway 64, is only 20 miles west of Fort Smith, Arkansas, 101 miles southeast of Tulsa and 159

Sallisaw, OK Race Tracks

Sequoyah County Historical Museum

Historical information throughout Sequoyah County.

Sallisaw, OK Museums

Missouri-Pacific Depot/Library

The renovated Missouri-Pacific Railroad Station houses Sallisaw's public library, the Stanley Tubbs Memorial Library. The exterior of the building remains true to the original structure built over 75 years ago. Current fiction, non-fiction, children'

Sallisaw, OK Railroad History

Outdoor Mural

This nearly block-long mural illustrates historical events throughout Sequoyah County in a collage of 21 paintings.

Sallisaw, OK Arts

Explore Sequoyah County