LASR.net Homepage




Menu

Hillbilly Hoedown

Starting date:
Ending date:

Always call # confirm
Event# 918-456-3742

Event Details

Two-days of old fashioned fun including fiddling contests, dunk tanks, unique vendors of arts, crafts, BBQ cookoff, and specialty country hoedown games. Fri-Sat 10am-6pm.
Handicap Accessible.

Hillbilly Hoedown

Address : Courthouse Square Tahlequah OK
Phone : 918-456-3742   (Always call and confirm events.)

Email Address : tour@tourtahlequah.com

Admission Fee : Free

Festivals

Attractions and Upcoming Events

Seminary Hall at Northeastern State University

This four-year regional university has a long and colorful heritage which began in 1846 when the Cherokee National Council authorized establishment of the National Male Seminary and National Female Seminary.

Tahlequah, OK Historic Buildings

The First Telephone

Here in September, 1885, the first telephone in Oklahoma was connected for service. It was the first telephone in the Mississippi Valley west of St. Louis. The company was organized by a group of Cherokees, namely, D.W. Lipe, L.B. Bell, R.M. Wolfe, J.S. Stapler, J.B. Stapler, and E.D. Hicks.

Tahlequah, OK Markers

Old Cherokee Capitol Building

The Cherokee Council first met in 1839

Tahlequah, OK Ethnic Heritage

Monument to John Ross

John Ross 1790-1866

Principal Chief of the Cherokee, 1828 - 1866

Born October 3, 1790 in Turkeytown, Alabama, the son of a one-quarter Cherokee maiden and a Scotsman, John Ross was elected as the first Principal Chief of the Cherokee Indians in 1828

Tahlequah, OK Monuments

Murrell Home

The Murrell Home was built in the new Cherokee Nation about 1845 by George M. Murrell. Murrell was a native Virginain who married Minerva Ross in 1834. Minerva was a member of a wealthy mixed-blood Cherokee/Scottish family, and the niece of Chief John Ross.

Tahlequah, OK Museums

Things to do near Tahlequah, OK