The Herbert Hoover Presidential Library and Museum affords visitors many insights into the life and leadership of America's 31st president. Located in West Branch, the site includes Hoover's birthplace cottage and final resting place. A blacksmith shop, one-room schoolhouse, Friends meeting house, replica of the Oval Office, and changing American history exhibits are also part of the library and museum operated by the National Archives and Records Administration. The Visitor Center is operated by the National Park Service. www.hoover.archives.gov
Effigy Mounds National Monument is a group of prehistoric American Indian burial and ceremonial mounds located near Marquette in northeast Iowa. The mounds - shaped like birds and animals between 500 B.C. and 1300 A.D. - form the sacred centerpiece of a 2,526-acre forest along the Mississippi River bluffs. Natural resources include 11 miles of hiking trails, tallgrass prairie and wetlands.
The Silos and Smokestacks National Heritage Area is a federally designated, 37-county region in northeast Iowa, where visitors experience the past and present of Iowa agriculture through a network of sites. One of only 27 National Heritage Areas in the United States, Silos and Smokestacks tells the story of American agriculture, agribusiness and farm life. It is affiliated with the National Park Service. www.silosandsmokestacks.org
The Grand Opera House is the oldest theater in Dubuque and was built in 1889-1890 at an estimated cost of $65,000. Done in the Richardsonian architectural style, the original facade consists of St. Louis brick facing with Bayfield red sandstone trim. Dubuque'Dubuque, IA Opera Houses
The Bremer County Historical Society Museum building was built in 1862 as the first large hotel and stagecoach stop in the area and is on the National Register of Historic Places. It now houses pioneer and other artifacts from Bremer County. Visit us on Facebook:Waverly, IA Museums
Artisan, Tony Sanders, has achieved a unique blend of woodworking and history with his collection of over 4,000 arrowheads. All of the woodwork from the building to the display cases are built by hand from over 16 different native woods and shaped into various patterns. For about 60Bentonsport, IA Museums
Originally opened in 1883 to horse and buggy traffic, this one lane iron bridge replaced ferries that linked Vernon and Bentonsport. It is the oldest standing truss bridge across the Des Moines River and also the longest. Damaged in the flood of 1903Bentonsport, IA Historic Bridges
Tour the furnished 1907 country schoolhouse honoring the birthplace nationally recognized 4-H four-leaf clover emblem. The former Lake Township #6 rural schoolhouse houses 4-H memorabilia, past 4-H uniforms, and other county history. The birthplace of the 4Clarion, IA Historic Schoolhouses