The cornerstone of the first frame church was laid in 1868. It must have taken a while to erect the first church, as it was not finished until 1870. That church was destroyed by a tornado in 1873. The cornerstone for the present stone church was laid September 18, 1873
The present building was built by the Carnegie Foundation and the Entre Nous Club at a cost of $20,000. It opened to the public September 26, 1914. The Entre Nous club donated their collection of 25,000
Explore Eureka and Greenwood County through its Driving Tour that visits 109 historical sites. Find Stone Houses, bridges, schools, cemeteries, churches, barns, silos, and landmarks along the way.
Contact the Greenwood County Historical Museum for a printed guide:
Canoe trips - down scenic Fall River, 6-8 miles/3/4 hours. Also guided backpack trips, Spring and Fall.
Camping - area lakes, Fall River and Christian Hills Camp.
Hunting - the best anywhere! Quail, Prairie Chicken, Turkey, Deer, and Rabbits.
The Memorial Hall is host to a regular tour of Jim Brother's Bronze Sculptures, which have garnered Worldwide acclaim. His awards and credits are numerous and include the Carl Akeley Medallion, (Intl.); "Best in the World", Wildlife Sculpture; Seville World Expo, at the 1992 World'