Seth Hays Home

category : Museums
Seth Hays Home The town founder, Seth Hays, built this home in 1867. His slave, Aunt Sally, lived in the basement and cared for Hays and his adopted daughter, Kittie Robbins, until her death in 1872. Hays died a year later, February 3, 1873, and is buried in Greenwood Cemetery. Operated as a museum by the Morris County Historical Society, the home is open in the summer on Sunday afternoons and by appointment.

Address: 203 Wood Street
Phone: 620-767-6563

Come visit us in Council Grove, Kansas

Attractions and Upcoming Events

Last Chance Store

Like its name warns, this store was once the "last chance" for travelers on the Santa Fe Trail to buy supplies for their journey to New Mexico. Built in 1857, the limestone structure is the oldest commercial building in Council Grove and is listed on the National Register of Historic Places

Council Grove, KS Pioneer History

Madonna of the Trail

This striking statue, depicting a pioneer mother with two children, pays tribute to the sturdy women of covered wagon days. The 10-feet-tall figure is made of pink Algonite stone and was erected in 1928

Council Grove, KS Memorials

Farmers and Drovers Bank Building

A Council Grove landmark, the Farmers and Drovers Bank is one of the community's most ornate buildings. The two-story red brick bank with limestone trim was built in 1892 for $20,000. Its "eclectic"

Council Grove, KS Historic Buildings

Cottage House Hotel

This rambling, two-story brick building began in 1867 as a 3-room cottage and blacksmith shop. Today, the handsome gazebo-style porches are favorite gathering places for guests and the historic hotel is a restored showcase of unique Victorian charm. From "Aunt Minnie's Room" to the "Bridal Chamber"

Council Grove, KS Historic Hotels

Council Grove City Lake

Located 3.5 miles northwest of Council Grove. Fisherman will be hooked on the bass, walleye, catfish, and crappie, in this well stocked 500

Council Grove, KS Recreation

Things to do Museums near Council Grove, KS

Ellet Museum

Housed in a one-room schoolhouse built by Col. Ellet in the 1880s, the collection includes the written and pictorial history ...