LASR.net Homepage



Menu

Explore Goliad County

Goliad State Park

184-acre park features reconstructed, refurnished replica Mission Nuestra Senora del Espritu Santo de Ziga, generally called Mission Espritu Santo. Excellent interpretive displays, plus camping and picnicking area, rest rooms and river fishing spots. Mission established 1749

Goliad, TX State Parks

Fannin Battleground State Historic Site

A handsome monument marks site where Col. James W. Fannin Jr. and his men surrendered to Mexican army after Battle of Coleto Creek Mar. 20, 1836. Though Fannin believed surrender was on honorable terms, Gen. Antonio Lopez de Santa Anna overruled local Mexican commander'

Fannin, TX Historic Sites


Presidio La Bahia

As conquistadors of centuries ago explored new lands for "God, Gold and Glory," the Church played an integral part in colonization and dominion over vast New World empires. Missions were often first permanent Spanish settlement in new areas. To protect mission endeavors, a presidio (fort)

Goliad, TX History

Zaragoza Birthplace State Historic Site

Both a state park and international historic site, reconstructed birthplace and statue of one of Mexico's most famous military figures, Gen. Ignacio Zaragoza (1829-1862). Mexican general and liberal leader was minister of war under Juárez. In 1862

Goliad, TX Historic Sites

Fannin Plaza

City park at S. Market and Franklin Sts. Includes Texas Revolution cannon, memorial shaft and several historical markers. Nearby is hanging tree on courthouse lawn, and Market House Museum. Newly built children's park, "Fort Fun,"

Goliad, TX Plazas

Grave of Col. James W. Fannin Jr. and Men

Monument marks grave of Colonel Fannin and 342 men who had surrendered to Mexican forces during the Texas Revolution, and were massacred at the order of General Santa Anna on Palm Sunday morning, March 27, 1836. Two miles south of Goliad off U.S. 183, a few hundred yards from Presidio La Bahia.

Goliad, TX Monuments

Market House Museum

Quaint structure with cupola on the courthouse square. First public use on Aug. 30, 1853; in 1886, building became a firehouse with meeting hall. Local volunteer fire department used the building until 1964 and restored for use as museum in 1967

Goliad, TX Museums

Goliad Country Recreation Association

Course Access: Private
Holes: 9
Reserve Advance Tee Times:

Goliad, TX Golf Courses

Explore Goliad County