The first school, built in 1870, was a log cabin provided by Berryman Smith. The teacher, Mrs. O.M. \"Billie\" Smith, had 25 students enrolled. Bonds for the next school building, the Little White School House, were sold to raise $1,800 and the school was built in 1872 for $900
The popular Truskett Opera House which was built in 1907 burned along with other businesses in 1910 having a $50,000 loss. The Caney Elk's Club acquired the opera house facilities and rebuilt a building for club use. Their "Elk's Hall"
Caney is proud of its rich heritage and is fortunate to have preserved much of the architecture of its early development. The Historical Society has prepared a self-guided tour brochure to illustrate some of Caney'
Welcome to the Safari Zoological Park. The Park was established in 1989 for the purpose of saving endangered animals and was opened to the public in 1994.
See our magnificent animals, lions, tigers and bears, plus jaguars and black leopards. There's alligators, lemurs, baboons and much more!