"Retracing the Footsteps of the Pioneers". The Neosho Riverwalk connects the Madonna of the Trail statue, Guardian of the Grove statue, the Neosho River Crossing and the Kaw Mission Historic Site. Thi... Neosho River Walk
The two-mile-long Kanza Heritage Trail loops through the beautiful and historic 158-acre Kaw Heritage Park owned and managed by the Kaw Nation, a self-governing tribe of 2,591 members. Currently base... Al-Le-Ga-Wa-Ho Heritage Park Trail
Town founder Seth Hays, a grandson of Daniel Boone and cousin of Kit Carson, opened the Hays House in 1857. Over the years, the Hays House was a gathering place for church services, court trials, bawdy theatricals and politicians\'
This 300-year-old bur oak (just the trunk remains) served as the unofficial post office for travelers on the Santa Fe Trail from 1825-1847. Passing caravans could leave messages for future travelers in a cache in the base of the tree. A stone building erected in 1864
This imposing, 76-foot-long native stone barn was built into the bank of a hill in 1871 on land owned by the town's founder, Seth Hays. It's the only structure remaining from the Morris County Poor Farm, which existed here from 1889-1945.
This tiny cave was the temporary home of an Italian hermit, Giovanni Maria Augustini, who lived here for a brief period in the spring of 1863. Later that year, the religious mystic left with a wagon train, walking the 500 miles to New Mexico.
This rambling, two-story brick building began in 1867 as a 3-room cottage and blacksmith shop. Today, the handsome gazebo-style porches are favorite gathering places for guests and the historic hotel is a restored showcase of unique Victorian charm. From "Aunt Minnie's Room" to the "Bridal Chamber"