The cornerstone of the first frame church was laid in 1868. It must have taken a while to erect the first church, as it was not finished until 1870. That church was destroyed by a tornado in 1873. The cornerstone for the present stone church was laid September 18, 1873
The Greenwood County Historical Museum houses artifacts including geneological records, maps agricultural tools, house-hold items, and interesting displays. See the doll house, shaving mugs, tool chest (1860), 1900
Explore Eureka and Greenwood County through its Driving Tour that visits 109 historical sites. Find Stone Houses, bridges, schools, cemeteries, churches, barns, silos, and landmarks along the way.
Contact the Greenwood County Historical Museum for a printed guide:
The present building was built by the Carnegie Foundation and the Entre Nous Club at a cost of $20,000. It opened to the public September 26, 1914. The Entre Nous club donated their collection of 25,000