This 165 year old pioneer cabin listed on the National Register of Historic Places became the Johnson Cabin Museum in 1950.
The first settlers arrived in Gage County in the 1850s, followed by Reverend Johnson who arrived in Gage County in the summer of 1855 to preach to the Indians on the Reservation. He built this cabin 1 1/2 miles north of Blue Springs. There were mature oaks and cottonwoods in the valley and he felled several oaks to chop into logs for his cabin, logs that have now stood the test of time over 160 years. The log cabin, rising from the meadow, was a sturdy 14' x 16' one story with a loft. When it was finished, he dug a well near the entrance and hollowed out two oak branches for buckets. He returned to Iowa and brought his family back to settle in the summer of 1857. They were true Pioneers whose story has been lovingly preserved in their 160-year-old cabin in the Blue Springs Park. The cabin is furnished with memorabilia from its time period and hosted by docents who are familiar with the home & the rich history of Southern Gage County.
Come visit us in Blue Springs, Nebraska