Founded in 1931, this museum boasts one of the world's most exceptional collections of lead and zinc ore dating back to Joplins mining days as well as a quality collection of mining tools and equipment.
This museum emphasizes the growth and development of Joplin as the result of mining in the Tri-State Mining District, primarily during the Victorian period. On display are assorted historic items from Joplin's mining era, including an extensive doll collection and the "Circus Room", a child'
"Seek the Unique" in downtown Joplin. Buildings located between Main Street and Byers Street, from 1st to 10th Streets are significant to Joplin's history. Eight of these buildings are listed on the National Register of Historic Places. Brochures of a downtown walking tour are available.