Springing up as a trading area around the Creek Council House, downtown Okmulgee grew by leaps and bounds in the early part of the Twentieth Century. The city boasts some of the finest architecture and architectural details in the state.
The Servers Block was a testament to one of Okmulgee's earliest pioneers. Captain F.B. Severs first established the "Big Store" as it was known by the Creek Indians, just northeast of the Creek Council House. In 1882, the original building was torn down and a stone building erected. This was the second stone building in Okmulgee.
By 1900, when the railroad came through, Captain Severs owned most of the land along the north side of Sixth Street from Morton Street to the Frisco Station. By 1907, servers remodeled and expanded his building to the east. The Citizens National Bank at 101 East Sixth has been located in the orginal Severs location since 1909 and the west exterior wall still shows the orginal stone of the Severs store.
Come visit us in Oklahoma, Oklahoma