LASR.net Homepage




Menu


Eureka's Founding Spring


category : Natural Attractions
Located behind the fire station in the creek (Walker's Run) is Eureka's founding spring, now enclosed. It was here, in 1857, that the town was named. Several men happened upon the spring and one of them called out "Eureka" meaning, "I have found it." This spring furnished water for man and beast for many years. It was first enlosed in the 1940s.


Come visit us in Eureka, Kansas

Attractions and Upcoming Events

Christian Congregational Church

The Congregational Church was Built in Gothic style of architecture in 1888

Eureka, KS Historic Churches

Eureka Downs

Eureka Downs offers excitement in the form of pounding hooves, the Horse Racing Capital of Kansas. This beautiful facility provides a fun day at the races with simulcasting and pari-mutuel betting while enjoying refreshments in the lounge. Live racing Saturdays, last of May through July 4.

Eureka, KS Race Tracks

Carnegie Library

The present building was built by the Carnegie Foundation and the Entre Nous Club at a cost of $20,000. It opened to the public September 26, 1914. The Entre Nous club donated their collection of 25,000

Eureka, KS Carnegie Libraries

Eureka Lake and Nature Trail

Enjoy fishig, water shiing, swimming, hiking, camping, and picnic shelters. Bait is available at the lake along with a public dock and beach. While you are at Eureka Lake explore another unique point of interest, Eureka Lake'

Eureka, KS Recreation

Greenwood Hotel

This brick building was dedicated in 1884. The original building, 50' x 100', consisted of three stories and a small basement. The addition to the east was built in 1923 and the exterior of the original building received a stucco treatment in 1926, creating a Spanish look. The hotel cafe (

Eureka, KS Historic Buildings

Things to do Natural Attractions near Eureka, KS

Sink Hole

This sink hole appeared in 1937 and measures 58 feet deep and 250' x 200'. A guide will help you locate it....

Eureka's Founding Spring

Located behind the fire station in the creek (Walker's Run) is Eureka's founding spring, now enclosed. It was here, in 1857, ...