This brick building was dedicated in 1884. The original building, 50' x 100', consisted of three stories and a small basement. The addition to the east was built in 1923 and the exterior of the original building received a stucco treatment in 1926, creating a Spanish look. The hotel cafe (
The Memorial Hall is host to a regular tour of Jim Brother's Bronze Sculptures, which have garnered Worldwide acclaim. His awards and credits are numerous and include the Carl Akeley Medallion, (Intl.); "Best in the World", Wildlife Sculpture; Seville World Expo, at the 1992 World'
The present building was built by the Carnegie Foundation and the Entre Nous Club at a cost of $20,000. It opened to the public September 26, 1914. The Entre Nous club donated their collection of 25,000
Eureka Downs offers excitement in the form of pounding hooves, the Horse Racing Capital of Kansas. This beautiful facility provides a fun day at the races with simulcasting and pari-mutuel betting while enjoying refreshments in the lounge.
Live racing Saturdays, last of May through July 4.
Explore Eureka and Greenwood County through its Driving Tour that visits 109 historical sites. Find Stone Houses, bridges, schools, cemeteries, churches, barns, silos, and landmarks along the way.
Contact the Greenwood County Historical Museum for a printed guide: