Koester House Museum

category : Museums
Koester House Museum The Koester House Museum, nestled in the heart of downtown, is an excellent place to take a look at life in Marysville before the turn of the century. If the walls of this white frame Victorian house could talk, they surely would tell of the early Marysville banking family who built the home, the handsome couple who moved in as newlyweds and had three children before the wife was struck down by consumption at the age of 35, leaving her husband, small son and two daughters.

Still luxuriously furnished with the Koester belongings, including family portraits, clothing, toys and books, furniture and household items, the house is a rare gem, completed in 1876, renovated carefully since the 1970s, and opened to the public through the generosity of the Koester heirs, who made it a gift to the city of Marysville.

Surrounded by a brick wall and with cast iron lions and dogs guarding its gates, the grounds of the house are nearly as interesting as the interior. A summer kitchen, ice house, carriage house and statuary make a stroll through this family's yard an experience to remember.

A rare collection of white bronze (zinc) sculptures which the owner acquired to enhance his yard and gardens has been restored and is on display in the museum yard. The cast iron lions and dogs at the gates were noted by Laura Ingalls Wilder in "On the Way Home," a diary of her family's journey in 1894 from South Dakota to Missouri. These statues have also been restored, along with cast iron urns, yard furniture and a fountain.

The Koester family came to America in 1850 from Germany. Charles F. Koester arrived in Marysville in 1860. He engaged in business and was recorder and treasurer of Marshall County. He joined his brother-in-law in the bank which became the Exchange Bank of Schmidt & Koester. Eventually the Koester family developed an entire block, which had two homes, one now a museum and the other a restaurant, several business buildings and a park. The entire block was given to the city of Marysville by the Koester heirs in 1977, and is listed on the National and State Registers of Historic Places.

Hours: April - October, Mon. - Sat. 10 a.m. to Noon, 1-4:30 p.m., Sun. 1 p.m. - 4:30 p.m., or by appointment
Address: Broadway & Tenth
Phone: 785-562-2417
Our Email:

Come visit us in Marysville, Kansas

Attractions and Upcoming Events

Historic Trails Park

Historic Trails Park recognizes the Trails that merged at this point because of the ability to cross the river on the ferry. Trail traffic often crossed a low water ford north of this park bringing westbound travelers through this very spot on the south bank of the Blue River. Marshall'

Marysville, KS Pioneer Life

Hutchinson House

The Hutchinson House is listed on the National Register of Historic Places. Built by Perry Hutchinson in 1872, this French Renaissance architectural style home is now a private residence.

Marysville, KS Historic Homes

Historic Courthouse Museum

One of Marysville's great old landmarks is the Historic Marshall County Courthouse. Built in 1891, the brick-faced Romanesque gem has columns of polished red granite. "Justice" stands out in terra-cotta in cornices above the second-floor windows. It is listed on the

Marysville, KS Museums

Marysville Country Club

Course Access: Private
Holes: 9
Reserve Advance Tee Times:

Marysville, KS Golf Courses

City Park Historic Displays

After the Union Pacific Railroad converted to diesel power in the early 1950s, Marysville, a crew-change point, asked for and received the great old steam locomotive on display in City Park, a Baldwin Consolidation 2-8-0, built in 1901 for UP, later used for short-line freight hauls.

Marysville, KS Railroad History

Things to do Museums near Marysville, KS

Blue Rapids Historical Society Museum

The Blue Rapids Historical Museum was established in 2007 to honor and remember the people, businesses and history of the onl...