In 1878 the German Pieta arrived at the spectacular
St. Mary's Catholic Church in Orleans via wagon
freight. It was given to the church by Frank Hufnagel,
a German immigrant. The present church was built in 1898, and the pieta remained in this building until 1991 when it was moved to
For a step back in time, plan to stay at the historic Orleans Hotel. Built in 1929, the hotel's original hardwood floors and massive woodwork cast a friendly glow in the spacious lobby, with its open staircase to the second floor.
The Harlan County Museum is home for the Hufnagel "PIETA." Given to St. Mary's Catholic Church by German immigrant, Frank Hufnagel, it arrived by wagon freight about 1878, and was displayed in the original frame church and then the "new" 1898 church until the late 1970