LASR.net Homepage




Menu

Koester House Museum


category : Museums
Koester House Museum The Koester House Museum, nestled in the heart of downtown, is an excellent place to take a look at life in Marysville before the turn of the century. If the walls of this white frame Victorian house could talk, they surely would tell of the early Marysville banking family who built the home, the handsome couple who moved in as newlyweds and had three children before the wife was struck down by consumption at the age of 35, leaving her husband, small son and two daughters.

Still luxuriously furnished with the Koester belongings, including family portraits, clothing, toys and books, furniture and household items, the house is a rare gem, completed in 1876, renovated carefully since the 1970s, and opened to the public through the generosity of the Koester heirs, who made it a gift to the city of Marysville.

Surrounded by a brick wall and with cast iron lions and dogs guarding its gates, the grounds of the house are nearly as interesting as the interior. A summer kitchen, ice house, carriage house and statuary make a stroll through this family's yard an experience to remember.

A rare collection of white bronze (zinc) sculptures which the owner acquired to enhance his yard and gardens has been restored and is on display in the museum yard. The cast iron lions and dogs at the gates were noted by Laura Ingalls Wilder in "On the Way Home," a diary of her family's journey in 1894 from South Dakota to Missouri. These statues have also been restored, along with cast iron urns, yard furniture and a fountain.

The Koester family came to America in 1850 from Germany. Charles F. Koester arrived in Marysville in 1860. He engaged in business and was recorder and treasurer of Marshall County. He joined his brother-in-law in the bank which became the Exchange Bank of Schmidt & Koester. Eventually the Koester family developed an entire block, which had two homes, one now a museum and the other a restaurant, several business buildings and a park. The entire block was given to the city of Marysville by the Koester heirs in 1977, and is listed on the National and State Registers of Historic Places.


Hours: April - October, Mon. - Sat. 10 a.m. to Noon, 1-4:30 p.m., Sun. 1 p.m. - 4:30 p.m., or by appointment
Address: Broadway & Tenth
Phone: 785-562-2417
Our Email: marysvillechamber@sbcglobal.net
Our Website:skyways.lib.ks.us/towns/Marysville/koester.html

Come visit us in Marysville, Kansas

Attractions and Upcoming Events

Hutchinson House

The Hutchinson House is listed on the National Register of Historic Places. Built by Perry Hutchinson in 1872, this French Renaissance architectural style home is now a private residence.

Marysville, KS Historic Homes

Historic Trails Park

Historic Trails Park recognizes the Trails that merged at this point because of the ability to cross the river on the ferry. Trail traffic often crossed a low water ford north of this park bringing westbound travelers through this very spot on the south bank of the Blue River. Marshall'

Marysville, KS Pioneer Life

Lee Dam Center for Fine Art

The center for fine art brings cultural events, visual arts, music, and educational programs to the community of Marysville to enhance and enrich the lives of citizens of all ages.

Marysville, KS Arts

Pony Express Original Home Station #1

Built in 1859 by Joseph Cottrell, the Pony Express Barn Museum is the oldest building in Marshall County. Too, it is the only original home station along the Pony Express route at its original site. The Pony Express System was inaugurated April 3, 1860

Marysville, KS Pony Express

Country Club Lake

Country Club Lake offers a small playground, a sandy area, fishing and is a great area for kite flying!

Marysville, KS Recreation

Things to do Museums near Marysville, KS

Allis Chalmers Antique Tractor Museum

The museum holding the world's largest, private collection of antique Allis-Chalmer tractors was dedicated on May 29, 1998. T...