The Church of Transfiguration was constructed in 1890 of native limestone and is surrounded by buffalo grass. It is a monument to the fine craftsmanship of the builders of that era. The church is registered with the Kansas State Historical Society. The varnished Wainscoat ceiling is supported by Five A-frame beams, all supported by hand hewn crossbeams. The rood screen which separates the sanctuary from the Altar is unique and believed to be the only such design in Kansas. Brass Cross and Candlesticks imported from Switzerland and purchased in New York were a gift of the Ladies Guild. The original arched front door is supported by six brass hinges and painted Lamb's "blood" red, a symbol of the Episcopal Church. The exterior of the church has not been changed except for new shingles on the roof.
The Church is now used as an All Faith Chapel and is available to the public for weddings and any other appropriate service for a fee of ten ($10.00) dollars.
Address: 210 Washington Street
Open seven days a week
Key available at the Dane G. Hansen Museum
Come visit us in Logan, Kansas